» Flitsservice International » International Discussions   

Postingstijd interval gedetecteerd van 315.8 dagen. Deze pagina bevat dus deels relatief oude berichten.

Pagina 1 van 1  [ 6 berichten ]
Unintork
Eendagsvlieg
 Bericht 

Hi all,

Let me introduce myself: I am Kenneth, 22 years old, from the UK.
My girlfriend is from Erica, in Drenthe in the Netherlands and so I am trying to learn Dutch as I hope to live there one day. :)
I am a junior software developer and specialized in mobile apps.

I am thinking of writing a program, for my CarPC that is also running my webcams (in the nose and the trunk of my Laguna). Currently it is a 'dumb' camera, only recording as a dashcam.
I want it to recognise license plates... in particular: Police license plates.

They are constantly recording us, and they use a database with our plates, right?
I want this program to give me a headsup, whenever a unmarked patrol car is in front or behind me.
Does anyone know if something like this is already there (before I start coding on something that's already around...)
I already noticed there's a license plate database ready on this site?

Any idea's are welcome, I am happy to "Sparren" (if that is the correct Dutch word), so we can make something nice.

WimLex
Master
 Bericht 
my opinion ? these cams (and dashcams also) suck if you want to read / interpret licenseplates of cars further away then 5 mtr from the car.
Maybe it will work with a zoom lens ...

Fulcrum
Master
 Bericht 
I tried this. Using a good camera it is possible, your main problem will be the OCR (ANPR) algorithm. It won't work with a "normal" dashcam, you will need a longer focal length. My project failed, but it was able to read some plates. You can download trial versions of commercial programs, and those are able to do this. I can imagine a Raspberry Pi with a camera to do just this........

Unintork
Eendagsvlieg
 Bericht 

Thanks for the swift replies :)